Wedding Obsession// Bridesmaids!

Deciding on outfits for my bridesmaids has been a roller coaster. If you happen to be one of them then you know I change my mind often. There have been many emails starting with, “So I decided…” and ending with, “This is definitely the final outfit!” And then a week later I change my mind. Luckily no one has seemed to mind too much! My matron (or lady, as she prefers) of honor is my older sister, Cadi. She has always been a surrogate mom, of sorts. The wedding has been no exception! She has helped me figure out lots of stuff so far and hunted down the bridesmaid dresses of my dreams on a wild internet frenzy. She’s good. Seriously. The dresses will be coming from Shabby Apple and I LOVEĀ  them! They’re perfect! I have a thing for mismatched bridesmaid dresses. Some people told me it couldn’t be done but we figured out a way to make it work! Here are lots of photos I’ve found to prove it! Once again, no specific source information for all of the images. I tried to hunt down as many original sources as I could! I have been collecting these for months through wedding blogs such as Ruffled Blog, Style Me Pretty and random searches with Google Image.

See this photo and lots of amazing others here.

This one is from today’s Ruffled Blog post. See the rest of this amazing handmade/vintage wedding here.

Green Wedding Shoes featured this pretty yellow accented wedding. See the rest here.

Another idea I love are cardigans for the chillier fall and winter weddings. I’ve never been a fan of shawls, necessarily. I just don’t think they have a lot of styling benefits, but cardigans are cute and functional at the same time. Perfect combination!

Check out the rest of this adorable couple’s wedding here.

I love that even though these are matching dresses, each bridesmaid has a cardigan in a different shade of gray, and with matching fabric flower pins to pull it all together. Those flower brooch bouquets are adorable, too! Swoon!

LOVE her wrap sweater and her headpiece! Before getting my dress I originally planned to wear a similar cardigan I found, but it doesn’t really match the style of the dress I ended up getting. I think I may have found a solution, though! Faux fur capelets and stoles are a stylish and vintage-inspired solution, as well. I wouldn’t feel comfortable wearing real fur, personally, but there are lots of realistic looking imitations out there. I found a few on Etsy that are looking promising!

Check out this Mad Men-inspired elopement here.

Since I’m already making my headpiece, I’m thinking about making something pretty for each of my ladies to wear in their hair, as well. And something for my mother and soon-to-be mother -in-law, as well. In the next couple weeks I’ll be posting several more Wedding Obsessions- groomsmen, hair, shoes, table numbers and possible another diy sneak peak. It’s going to be a busy couple of weeks!

4 thoughts on “Wedding Obsession// Bridesmaids!

  1. I’ve always loved the mix and match idea for bridesmaids dresses. it’s simply too difficult to find one dress to flatter everyone, and everyone looks less clone-ish.
    nice set of pictures.

Leave a Reply

