Fort Christmas.

A new tradition we started this year is Fort Christmas. This year it’s in our bedroom since we all share one, but I hope in the future, someday when Max has his own room, to help him build one each year (for as many years as he is into the idea…). I got the idea from one of my favorite blogs, A Beautiful Mess. She builds one each year with her husband in their bedroom, so its a little different than our kid version. I think it’s the sweetest thing! They also started a new one this year- 12 dates of Christmas, which she talks about more on her blog. Obviously Dan and I have no way to have a date each day/night for 12 days before Christmas, but in the future I plan to do a similar countdown with family activities the 3 of us can do, and include family members as well if it works that way. I’ve seen other people do this with an advent type of calendar, where instead of candy, they have something fun planned each day, like drive/walk to look at Christmas lights, make Christmas cookies, go sledding (if there’s snow- none here yet!), decorate for the holidays, etc. I love this idea! I’m really excited for the time when Max is old enough to participate in this sort of thing and we can start all of these new traditions for our family! Anyway, back to Fort Christmas. A few years ago, when I was single and living in a teeny tiny apartment by myself, my mom gave me a little pink feather Christmas tree. It already had lights on it and was only about a foot and a half tall. I kind of thought… This is the tackiest thing ever, but this year I have decided it’s not at all tacky- orrrrr it’s the perfect amount of tacky…either way, I LOVE it now. And I am so glad I saved it! Getting a real tree would mean having to kill a tree and also having a huge mess in my apartment. Max has already proven at other people’s houses that he will certainly pull those trees down if given the chance…so I think it’s a good thing we skipped on it this year, although in the future we will probably do something like this (I hope with a fake one….a tinsel tree or white tree would be my favorite!). I built the fort in a corner of our room between the wall and my dresser by tacking up thrifted lace curtains and letting them drape down to the floor. I stacked some old and pretty books under the tree to make a pedestal. It’s totally kid friendly because Max can hang out in there and pull the tree down all he wants without risk of getting hurt, and it’s aesthetically pleasing to me, too! every time I turn the lights on Max runs over to it and ooh’s and ahh’s over it. Adorable!

Oh, and have a wonderful Solstice! To celebrate we are having a really yummy meal tonight by candlelight.

Leave a Reply

