FOOD!

Thoughts about diet and food have been consuming my brain lately. Dan and I have had countless conversations about it. I have talked about it with my older sister quite a bit and with some other friends as well. There are always some people who are very set in their ways, and I have learned not to really bring up the topic of food at all with them. This makes me fee a little bit sad because I like to talk. And I like to talk about food. I like to think ahead (sometimes too far- and yes, living for now and in the moment is a treasure, but I can’t help but plan and scheme, it’s part of who I am!). I really like to make lists. I love different aspects of vegan, vegetarian and raw food diets. I was a vegetarian for 4 years as a teenager and mostly just ate lots and lots of junk food- lots of soda, carbs and soy-based meat replacement products. I try to stay away from all of that now. I do have soda here and there but it’s not something I ever keep in the house. I try not to keep juice either. The only beverages I consume normally while at home are water, and sometimes unsweetened almond milk. I’m not really interested in fully committing to vegan or raw 100%. I love eggs and I really love goat cheese occasionally. After talking with Dan it seems like the best thing for us is a combination of those diets. So my revamped meal plan is coming atcha!

Breakfasts: steel cut oats with fruit nuts and maple syrup, eggs

Lunches: grain salads with beans and veggies or green veggie wraps

Dinners: Veggie and bean based, we’ll bulk everything up with brown rice and grains.

We’ll keep Greek yogurt and nuts for protein snacks and lots of fruit. I feel really good about this and I am really glad that Max will be coming along on this with us, too! I have plans to save for a really nice blender down the line for for now our cheapo one will do- not trying to sound like a snob here at all- our blender is really low quality and burns out easily and quickly and generally can’t handle a lot of stuff. Nothing ever gets 100% blended in there but I’ll try to have patience while it’s what we have to use! I’d like to start green smoothies every morning, too. Let’s see how this goes! I’ll try to update about it once and awhile.

Leave a Reply

